fbpx NDARC researchers among ASPR award winners | NDARC - National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre

NDARC researchers among ASPR award winners

image - Award Square
Date Published:
16 Dec 2012
Contact person:
Marion Downey
02 9385 0180 / 0401 713 850

Congratulations to NDARC researchers Dr Nicola Newton and Dr Katherine Mills for being among the winners of the 2012 Australasian Society for Psychiatric Research (ASPR) awards.

Dr Newton received the 2012 AFFIRM Early Career Scholar Award for her research examining the efficacy of school based interventions for the prevention of alcohol and other drug use. The award is gifted to doctoral level researchers and aims to support their career development by funding either the presentation of their research findings at an international conference, or funding a training visit to an international research centre.

Dr Katherine Mills was awarded the 2012 Lundbeck Institute Award in recognition of her research into treatment options for comorbid substance use and mental health disorders. This award recognises a researcher whose work is beginning to make a significant impact on the national and international scene, reflecting either scientific excellence or public impact (or both).

The Australasian Society for Psychiatric Research is a national peak body for psychiatric and mental health research in Australia and New Zealand. It includes researchers from a range of disciplines including psychiatrists, psychologists, statisticians, epidemiologists, neuroscientists, geneticists, social scientists, mental health nurses and health economists.