fbpx NDARC researchers win 2014 APSAD Awards | NDARC - National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre

NDARC researchers win 2014 APSAD Awards

APSAD Awards
Date Published:
12 Nov 2014
Contact person:
Marion Downey
02 9385 0180
Congratulations to NDARC’s Professor Maree Teesson and Dr Sarah Larney who have been recognised for their achievements at the 2014 Australasian Professional Society on Alcohol and other Drugs (APSAD) Awards for Excellence in Science, Research and Practice.
The awards were presented at a gala dinner in Adelaide on 11 November during the 34th annual APSAD Scientific Conference. The APSAD Awards recognise those who have made an outstanding contribution to reducing the harms associated with alcohol and other drug use in Australasia.
Professor Teesson was awarded the Senior Scientist Award, which recognises a significant and long-term contribution to the field of substance use and misuse. Professor Teesson is the director of the NHMRC Centre of Research Excellence in Mental Health and Substance Use (CREMS) based at NDARC, where she leads a large research team working to better understand, prevent and treat the co-occurance of mental ill health and substance abuse.
Dr Larney was awarded the Early Career Award, which recognises excellence in research by a postgraduate scientist or researcher who has been working in the substance misuse field for less than 10 years. Dr Larney’s innovative program of research examines the impact of incarceration on the health and wellbeing of people who inject drugs.