fbpx NDARC staff win 2015 SMHR Awards | NDARC - National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre

NDARC staff win 2015 SMHR Awards

Image - NDARC staff win 2015 SMHR Awards
Date Published:
4 Dec 2015

The achievements of a number of NDARC researchers have been celebrated at the 2015 Society for Mental Health Research (SMHR) Awards.

Centre of Research Excellence in Mental Health and Substance Use (CREMS) director Professor Maree Teesson took home the 2015 SMHR Oration Award, which recognises an SMHR member who is prominent in the Australian and New Zealand psychiatric research community. Selection is based upon nominees’ publications, grants, and research impact. Professor Teesson delivered the 2015 SMHR Oration, highlighting the importance of both prevention and treatment of comorbid disorders.

The director of CREMS’ prevention stream, Dr Nicola Newton, and fellow prevention researcher Katrina Champion both received Australian Rotary Health and Alliance for the Prevention of Mental Disorders Awards. Dr Newton won the Early Career Researcher prize while Ms Champion took home the 2015 PhD Candidate prize.  

PhD candidate Louise Birrell won the prize for Best Oral Presentation of the conference, and Katrina Champion and Kathryn Woodcock each won a Grants-in-Aid prize, available to students and early career researchers to facilitate their attendance at the SMHR conference.

Congratulations to all five award winners. 

Pictured: Katrina Champion and Dr Nicola Newton.