Find a supervisor

Potential supervisors and their fields of research are featured below.

Dr Monica Barratt: m.barratt@unsw.edu.au
Drugs and the internet; drugs on the dark net; impacts of drug laws and policies; consumer involvement; digital research methods.

Dr Nicola Black: n.black@unsw.edu.au
Health psychology; health behaviour change; smoking cessation; alcohol consumption, including binge drinking; intervention research; digital interventions.

Associate Professor Lucy Burns: l.burns@unsw.edu.au
Drugs and homelessness; drug use and gender; drug use and ageing; epidemiology of drug use and trends; alcohol and other drugs during pregnancy.

Dr Gabrielle Campbellg.campbell@unsw.edu.au
Prescription opioid use and dependence and chronic non-cancer pain including; health service utilisation, cannabis use, mental health and suicidality; cohort studies; data linkage https://ndarc.med.unsw.edu.au/project/point-study-pain-and-opioids-treatment.

Dr Ryan Courtneyr.courtney@unsw.edu.au 
Smoking cessation; tobacco smoking in low socio-economic status (SES) and disadvantaged populations; socio-economic inequalities and health behaviours and outcomes.

Professor Shane Darke: s.darke@unsw.edu.au
Physical and psychological harms of illicit drug use.

Professor Louisa Degenhardt: l.degenhardt@unsw.edu.au
Epidemiology of illicit drug use (especially cannabis, amphetamines, cocaine and heroin); mortality among illicit drug users; drug use among young people; crime among heroin dependent people; injecting drug use; pharmaceutical opioid use, including by people who are living with chronic pain.

Associate Professor Timothy Dobbinst.dobbins@unsw.edu.au
Applying and extending novel biostatistical methods for drug and alcohol research: for example cluster randomised trials, step-wedge trials, interrupted time series analysis. Analysing linked administrative data. Data visualisation techniques for effective communication of research results.

Professor Kate Dolan: k.dolan@unsw.edu.au
HIV prevention and drug treatment in developing countries; research into hepatitis C infection, prison populations and drug use and treatment for women. Health systems assessment and strengthening, smoking prevention and Indigenous drug and alcohol research.

Dr Natasa Gisevn.gisev@unsw.edu.au
Pharmaceutical opioid use and related harms; maximising treatment outcomes for people with opioid dependence, including those with co-morbid mental health disorders; quality use of opioids and psychotropic medicines, including evidence-based prescribing. Projects incorporate pharmacoepidemiological methods and the use of population-level linked administrative health data. 

Dr Caitlin Hughes: caitlin.hughes@unsw.edu.au
Drugs and crime; impacts of drug laws, policing and criminal justice policies; drug law reform; police and court diversion; drug markets, supply and trafficking.

Dr Sarah Larney: s.larney@unsw.edu.au
Opioid dependence and related harms, including hepatitis C virus, injecting related injuries and diseases, and contact with the criminal justice system. Projects using population level linked health data in these areas are particularly sought. Additionally, the Rainbow Lodge PhD Scholarship is available to study supported accommodation services following release from prison. 

Dr Janni Leung: jannikingyi.leung@unsw.edu.au
Substance use and mental health epidemiological studies, e.g. on drugs, alcohol, tobacco, depression, anxiety, psychological distress, sociodemographic and risk factors, comorbidity, health outcomes, quantitative data analysis. The project is suitable for a PhD student with high levels of self-directiveness and strong writing skills.

Professor Richard Mattick: r.mattick@unsw.edu.au
Pharmacotherapies and other treatment for Drug and Alcohol Dependence. Effects of drug use on children and families.

Dr Amy PeacockAmy.Peacock@unsw.edu.au 
Trends in illicit drug use, harms, and market features; characteristics of new psychoactive substance use; drugs on the dark net; use of pharmaceutical opioids and strategies to reduce extra-medical use and harm; parental supply of alcohol and associated use and harm among young people; alcohol mortality and morbidity; alcohol-related risk-taking; data linkage.

Professor Anthony Shakeshaft: a.shakeshaft@unsw.edu.au
Intervention research, including prevention, early intervention, clinical services and policy agencies. Particular areas of interest are interventions in collaboration with Indigenous Australians and in rural/remote communities.

Dr Janette Smith: janette.smith@unsw.edu.au
Neurocognitive deficits in substance abuse.

Dr Emily Stockings: e.stockings@unsw.edu.au
Mental health services, policy, prevention and treatment provision; comorbid mental and physical conditions; smoking cessation; smoke-free policy; randomised controlled trials; intervention research.