2018 NDARC Seminar Series

Image - 2018 NDARC Seminar Series
Date Published:
27 Mar 2018

The National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre (NDARC) at UNSW Sydney regularly host free seminars on a range of topics in the alcohol and other drug (AOD) field.

Presenters include both NDARC staff and national and international guests of the Centre.

Members of the AOD and research community are welcome to attend these seminars alongside NDARC staff.

Speakers and topics for 2018 are listed below and will be updated as additional seminars are confirmed.

NDARC Seminar Series:
3.00pm – 4.00pm every Thursday
NDARC Seminar Room Building R1, UNSW Randwick Campus, 22 - 32 King Street, Randwick
Visitors please report to reception at building R3

Upcoming seminars:

Thursday, 12 July
Intellectual Property
Dax Kukulj

Thursday, 19 July
Risk and resilience of family homelessness
Dr Elizabeth Conroy, Centre for Health Research, Western Sydney University

Thursday, 26 July
A bitter pill: nocebo effects, negative expectations, and treatment outcomes
Dr Kate Faase, School of Psychology, UNSW

Thursday, 9 August
Psychostimulants and fatal stoke amongst young adults
Professor Shane Darke, National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre

Thursday, 16 August
Cannabis and chronic pain
Dr Emily Stockings, National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre

Thursday, 13 September
Sex differences, alcohol and the brain
Dr Janette Smith, National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre

Thursday, 20 September
Preventure training
Erin Kelly

Thursday, 27 September
Methamphetamine use and future risk for Parkinson’s Disease
Julia Lappin

Thursday, 18 October
Assessing and Treating Cognitive Impairment in Drug and Alcohol Clients
Dr Lauren Monds, Discipline of Addiction Medicine, University of Sydney

Thursday, 25 October
The cardiovascular safety of smoking cessation pharmacotherapies
Dr Alys Havard, Centre for Big Data Research in Health, UNSW Sydney

Thursday, 8 November
Chronic pain and completed suicide
Dr Gabrielle Campbell, National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre

Thursday, 15 November
Substance use, eating disorders and trauma
Ivana Kihas, National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre