fbpx Associate Professor Amy Peacock announced as one of 100 rising research leaders | NDARC - National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre

Associate Professor Amy Peacock announced as one of 100 rising research leaders

Image - Associate Professor Amy Peacock announced as one of 100 rising research leaders
Date Published:
27 Sep 2023

NDARC'S Associate Professor Amy Peacock, has been welcomed into the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences mentorship program in September 2023. 

The AAHMS mentorship program was launched shortly after the Academy’s inception in 2015, with a goal of nurturing future leaders and supporting them in their careers. The latest intake brings the total number of mentees who have taken part in the program to 100.

Mentees are paired with an Academy Fellow mentor and become Associate Members of the Academy for three years, allowing them access to training, support and networking opportunities.

Mentorship Committee Chair Professor Louise Baur said the program has a strong legacy of success, with mentee alumni often winning major awards, receiving career promotions, or going on to mentor others.

“Establishing a mentorship program was an immediate priority for the Academy, and I’m so pleased to see its ongoing success,” Professor Baur said.

“Mentees and mentors benefit from the program, with our senior Fellow mentors delighted to pass on their expertise and help guide the next generation of health leaders.

“Similarly, we learn a lot from our mentees as we discuss their research, career goals and barriers, and novel ideas for the future of health.”

The Academy’s 15 newest Associate Members are listed below. Learn more about them in a gallery on the AAHMS website:

  1. Associate Professor Philip Britton, Paediatric Infectious Diseases Staff Specialist at The Children's Hospital at Westmead, the University of Sydney.
  2. Associate Professor Rowena Bull, Health Research Fellow at UNSW.
  3. Professor Gillian Caughey, Pharmacoepidemiology Associate Director, Register of Senior Australians at SAHMRI.
  4. Associate Professor Melody Ding, Public Health Associate Professor at the University of Sydney.
  5. Associate Professor Joseph Doyle, Infectious Diseases and Public Health Medicine, Infectious Diseases Physician at Monash University.
  6. Associate Professor Fernando Guimaraes Immunology Group Leader at Frazer Institute / The University of Queensland.
  7. Associate Professor Kathryn Hayward, Physical medicine and rehabilitation (physiotherapy), Principal Research Fellow, NHMRC EL2 & Heart Foundation Future Leader Level 2 Fellow at the University of Melbourne.
  8. Professor Christine Lu, Health services research, health policy, precision medicine Professor at University of Sydney and Kolling Institute.
  9. Professor Si Ming Man, Immunology Professor and Group Leader at Australian National University.
  10. Associate Professor Amy Peacock, Public Health Associate Professor, NHMRC Emerging Leadership Fellow and Acting Deputy Director at National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre UNSW.
  11. Associate Professor Sudarshini Ramanathan, Neuroscience Associate Professor of Neuroimmunology; Head, Translational Neuroimmunology Group, Concord Clinical School, and Sydney Medical School, University of Sydney.
  12. Associate Professor Danielle Stanisic, Infectious Diseases (Parasitology) Research Leader at Griffith University.
  13. Associate Professor Natalie Taylor, Implementation Science Associate Professor, Implementation Science at the University of New South Wales.
  14. Professor Joshua Vogel, Maternal and Perinatal Health, Senior Principal Research Fellow at the Burnet Institute.
  15. Associate Professor Caitlin Wyrwoll, basic science – reproductive physiology tenured academic at the University of Western Australia.

Media: AAHMS Communication Manager Katie Rowney, katie.rowney@aahms.org or P: 07 3102 7212 M: +61 (0) 419 787 551

About the Academy

The Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences is the impartial, authoritative, cross-sector voice of health and medical science in Australia. We advance health and medical research in Australia and its translation into benefits for all, by fostering leadership within our sector, providing expert advice to decision makers, and engaging patients and the public.

We are an independent, interdisciplinary body of Fellows – elected by their peers for their outstanding achievements and exceptional contributions to health and medical science in Australia. Collectively, they are a representative and independent voice, through which we engage with the community, industry and governments.

The Academy is registered with the Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission (ACNC) and is endorsed as a deductible gift recipient.

Read more here.