Congratulations to UNSW Medicine award winners

image - Professor Peter Smith 280 0
Date Published:
28 Nov 2012
Contact person:
Erin O'Loughlin
02 9385 0124 / 0402 870 996

NDARC congratulates our six staff members who were among the winners at the annual UNSW Medicine Awards Ceremony last night (28 November).

Dr Nicola Newton and Dr Janette Smith were both recognised for their postdoctoral research achievements, taking home the Dean’s Rising Star award.

Dr Peter Gates, who completed his PhD in 2012, and PhD student Bianca Calabria were each named on the Dean’s list. This award acknowledges the achievements of young researchers with the potential to become career scientists.

Earning the 2012 Dean’s Award for Professional and Technical Staff was NDARC’s communications manager Marion Downey and Drug Policy Modelling Program researcher Kari Lancaster. Both earned the award due to their “outstanding contributions” to their respective fields.

The UNSW Medicine Awards are overseen by the Medicine Faculty’s Dean, Professor Peter Smith, and acknowledge the excellence of those working in all UNSW Medicine schools and centres, from undergraduate students through to academics.

Previous NDARC recipients of Dean’s Awards include Dr Edmund Silins, Dr Natacha Carragher, Dr Sally Rooke, Dr Marian Shanahan, Amanda Roxburgh and Emma Black.

Pictured: Dean of UNSW Faculty of Medicine, Professor Peter Smith.